Governments of Syria

The tables compiled in the links below list the heads of state and government of Syria since the end of the First World War in 1918. The most significant historical events during this time period include the fall of the Ottoman Empire in 1918, the imposition of the French mandate from 1920 to 1946, the independence of the Syrian state in 1946, the establishment of the United Arab Republic in 1958 and its dissolution in 1961, and the rise of the Baath Party in 1963, which continues to wield significant influence till this day. The time period for heads of state starts with the short-lived Kingdom of Syria under King Faisal and continues right up to the present-day Syrian Arab Republic under President Bashar Al-Assad. The section on heads of government, or prime ministers as they are most often known as, also follows this structure starting with Rida Rikabi and ending with the present incumbent Wael Halqi. Included in these tables are the names of the relevant statesmen, the years in which they occupied their respective offices and important details pertaining to their tenures in office.

Heads of State

Heads of Government